

PO Box 44113 RPO Gorge Victoria BC V9A 7K1 778-817-1108 phone

> kanderson@nclf.ca nclf.ca

NCLF Board Meeting October 2, 2016

Present: Darryl Polyk, Wendy Cinnamon (ValPL); Dawn Stevens, Janet Marren (PGPL); Craig Clarke, Anna Babluck (MackPL); Wanda Davis (CRDL); Wendy Howe, Naomi Balla-Boudreau (McBPL); Maxime Evans (FSJPL); Michael Riis-Christianson (BLPL); Audrey Fennema (FLPL); Beverley McInnis, Jane Gray (VanPL); Sherry Smith (GrPL); Katherine Anderson

Regrets: Wayne Briscoe (FSJPL); Sashka Macievich (BLPL)

Absent: Gloria Maugham (GrPL)

- 1. Call to order at 1:04 pm
- 2. **Moved by M. Riis-Christianson, seconded by D. Stevens** to adopt the agenda with additions: 10. b. Election of Treasurer and 10. c. NCLF TOP funding. Carried
- 3. **Moved by W. Davis, seconded by M. Riis-Christianson** to adopt the minutes of the April 23, 2016 board meeting. Carried.
- 4. Report from chair verbal.
- 5. **Moved by C. Clarke, seconded by W. Howe** to adopt the 2016 year-to-date financial statements. Attached. Carried.
- 6. Manager activity report attached.
- 7. LAG report verbal.
- 8. Libraries Branch update attached.
- 9. Business Arising from Minutes
 - a. Strategic plan: draft in October; 3-4 main objectives; finalize by year-end.
 - b. Bank signing authority: **Moved by W. Howe, seconded by B. McInnis** to remove Maria Sandberg and Elaine Wiebe, add Darryl Polyk, Craig Clarke, Michael Riis-Christianson and Katherine Anderson. Carried.
- 10. New Business
 - a. 2017 budget postponed to after completion of strategic plan.
 - b. Election of Treasurer: Darryl Polyk nominated Michael Riis-Christianson; nomination accepted, no other nominations. Michael Riis-Christianson acclaimed Treasurer.
 - c. **Moved by M. Riis-Christianson, seconded by W. Davis** that NCLF will fund up to \$450/library/year for board development for trustees and library directors, to be effective January 1, 2017, with an annual review. Carried.
- 11. Next meeting Sunday June 11, 2017 at 4:30 pm in Prince George.
- 12. Moved by M. Riis-Christianson, seconded by W. Davis to adjourn at 2:39 pm.